Monday Musings: Be nice to yourself

So this weekend was July 4th and I’m sure most of you indulge in one way or another; be it food, alcohol, or letting a workout slip by. I have already heard or read about a few people who felt “guilty” and shitty about their weekend of fun. This just irritated me and then saddened me. It made me questioned my choices. I started on my journey to be healthier because I didn’t see how I could sustain my bad habits and current lifestyle for the long-term and live to do the many things I want to do but have not yet.

I do think it’s important to hold myself accountable for the choices I make because if I don’t then it will be so easy to just fall back on old ways and how can change ever occur then? BUT I do not believe in letting every ‘slip up’ bring me down. Because from experience, that is dangerous. Letting one choice derail my whole plan because ‘oh well I already fucked up once, no point in trying to continue is there.”

I don’t know about you guys but I feel like I already get enough negative thoughts from others, whether unintentional from family and friends or deliberate jabs from others, that there is no need for me to beat myself up too over every little single thing. My goal is self-reflection not self-judgment.

So if there’s anything from this weekend that you think might not have been the best thing to do (having too many cocktails, having that extra piece of fried chicken, not going for your morning run, whatever it may be), recognize that that might not have been the best choice to make and then move on from it. It’s done. You feeling bad about that extra slice of blueberry pie is not going to change the fact that you did indeed eat it. Comparing yourself to so and so is not going to help you in any way. Having one “bad” meal or missing a workout isn’t going to ruin everything for you, but letting your negative thoughts get in your way just might.

If there’s one thing I wish for right now is that my dear friends, family, and anyone reading this can be kind to yourselves. To the old you, the present you, and the future you that you are aspiring to be. Nobody is perfect even when they try. But try you must. Don’t write yourself off, brush yourself off. And go forth on pursuing your goals.

With love,
signature_710s8bm4hbz12j17gq

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Be nice to yourself

  1. i really liked what you said in this post, i feel like i really need to adopt your mindset. I give upon on tasks way too easily because of small obstacles or i do one thing wrong and decide its not worth doing, what you said here is really motivating and i’m gonna try and learn to move on more so i can do a lot more with my life.

    Like

    1. lauren, you can do it!
      think about your courses this past semester, distinctions baby! you thought you did badly, but you put in the effort and it worked out.
      i will always support you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

